Vacation!

Time to learn a little bit more about the similarities and differences within our team!

Tell us about your Favorite Vacation!

Tell us about your Dream Vacation!

    • Scott Gagne
    • June 5th, 2013

    Okay, I’ll get us started. It’s not a dream vacation or even a favorite vacation, but it was a vacation. :o) This year in April I went to Cancun for the first time….see photo in Employee Appreciation folder. It was in the upper 80’s and lower 90’s the entire time which was a great break from the 40’s we were getting in Maine all spring. The first day was a great long walk on the beautiful beach with such blue ocean water and then some beach volleyball. A lot of fun. Who would have thought to keep applying sunscreen to your feet??? Lesson learned (my FTW). Next morning my feet were swollen so bad I didn’t have ankles. This made standing a chore….needless to say the excitement of the vacation was challenged. Still went ziplining and shopping and to the Mayan ruins but had a lot of recovery time with my feet elevated. Stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel which was all inclusive so that helped the pain a bit. :o)

    Let’s hear some other stories….

    • Karla Rutherford
    • June 5th, 2013

    My favorite vacation was visting my son in Switzerland. We woke up in the morning overlookng over a valley covered with clouds below and with the Alps majestically displayed above. We opened the French doors, and the clouds would fill the room as they rose from the valley below. We were able to go skiing twice in the Alps and the views were more than spectacular.

    • Nancy Laster
    • June 5th, 2013

    Any vacation is usually a favortie of mine! But one of the favorites has to be a trip to Mexico I took with my niece. One of the day trips was to Chitzen Itza, where we got to climb a pyramid (see posted pictures – Pyramid at Chitzen Itza and Stacey and Nancy on the Pyramid). It was amazing to wonder around and see all the ruins, just to imagine what daily life would have been like.

    • Lisa Cesare
    • June 5th, 2013

    My dream vacation is spending at least 10 days in Italy with a goal of purchasing a very expensive pair of Italian shoes in Milan.. Drinking lots of wine, seeing lots of the country and taking a ride on a gondola in Venice. Of course my reality is probably going to New Orleans next year…….

    • Diane Austin
    • June 5th, 2013

    Vacations – what a topic. I have 2 vacations that stand out when I think of them.

    The first one was back in 2004 I have always wanted to see Yellowstone in the winter covered in snow. For some reason I imagined that Old Faithful would errupt as water and freeze and come down as ice. Well, I was wrong. But it is amazing the hot spots that never freeze, the bison that are digging under the snow for the green grass. It is on the list to go and visit again when I get the need for snow.

    The second vacation was a family vacation to Gatlinburg, TN a couple of years ago. We came from OK, FL, and IL and decided to spend the first day together with a family bonding activity. We went white water rafting. We bonded more than we had ever planned on bonding. Our raft flipped and all 6 of us and the guide were fished out of the river in various needs of medical care. We swam and hiked more than we rafted that first day. We spent the rest of the vacation healing and discussing the rafting experience. So the first day worked we did bond over the rafting experience.

    • Blate MInkler
    • June 5th, 2013

    My dream vacation is a Round the World cruise – 100+ days with nothing to worry about except what I’ll eat tonight and what I’ll do in port tomorrow.

    Have had lots of great vacations. One of the best was two weeks in Oman and Dubai: gold souks, exotic food, Muscat history and architecture, the Empty Quarter desert, frankincense and fig forests, and miles and miles of sugar white sand beach with not another soul in sight.

    • Karen Garcia
    • June 5th, 2013

    Best vacation was living in Germany for 2.5 years in early 1980’s and seeing 13 countries plus many cities in Germany.

  1. I would have to see my best vacation was my Honeymoon. It was a Meditterean Cruise and I would have to say that the ports in Greece were amazing! My dream vacation would be the Austrailan/Singapore cruise!

    • Sandra Aaron
    • June 5th, 2013

    My best vacation was a trip to London that my husband and I took in April, 2012. It was originally supposed to be to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, but we didn’t get to take it until our 27th anniversary. But it was a wonderful trip! There are a couple of pictures from our trip in the FIS day pictures on Netusers.

    London is fascinating, and there is so much to do there! We only left London a couple of times, to see Stonehenge and Oxford, and we didn’t even scratch the surface of what was available to do and see. We had a wonderful hotel, where they treated all the guests like royalty — wasn’t cheap, but we enjoyed it. Had such a good time on that vacation that I’m hoping we can go there again some day.

    • Kat Taylor
    • June 8th, 2013

    I’ve been blessed to have taken lots of wonderful vacations. Paris,France, Islands in the Caribbean, Grand Canyon, Key West, Montreal. But probably my favorite was in New York City last summer with my nine year old niece. For me the fun was watching her amazement at the wonders of the city. We did it all. Shows (The Lion King), Top of the Rock, The Empire State, Ferry to the Statue of Liberty, Hard Rock CafĂ©, FAO Schwartz, bike ride around Central Park and Cirque du Soleil at Radio City Music Hall. It’s a vacation we’ll both cherish for the rest of our lives. My dream vacation is a trip (NOT a cruise) to Alaska. I want to hire a guide to take me to all the “out of the way” places for some awesome photography opportunities.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

