Have you appreciated someone today?

Sam Walton said, “Appreciate everything your associates do for the business. Nothing else can quite substitute for a few well chosen, well-timed, sincere words of praise. They’re absolutely free and worth a fortune.”

It’s FIS Employee Appreciation Week and every day is designed to appreciate you – our residents of the TD Bank Data Center. We hope you feel truly appreciated every day, and this week really takes it to another level with activities designed to let you know how much you are appreciated. We know you also appreciate other FIS employees who work beside you (or on the other end of the phone line).

Albert Schweitzer said, “At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us.”

Go ahead, let someone know you appreciated something they did or said to you that really made a difference. Rekindle their spark. It’s simple, add a comment to this blog and let the data center know the kind of top-drawer people you work with.

Enter your name and email address, click the “Guest” button below and enter your appreciation comment in the box titled “Leave a Reply”. Press “Post Comment” and you’re done!

    • Sandi Shorey
    • September 28th, 2011

    I would like to take the opportunity to appreciate my wonderful co-workers, Debi Mac, Deb Stang, Rachel and Kimberly. Each of you have shared your time with me so I can “learn the ropes”. Your patience and kindness means so much. Thank you for amazing support!

    • Michelle Bates
    • September 29th, 2011

    I would like to take an opportunity to share my appreciation for the Leverage Services Business Team. You all work very well together to deliver high quality services for our data center. I am proud to have the opportunity to manage this fine team! Thank You!

    • Patty Morris
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to take a moment and say thank you to my team, they do a great job every day. It is wonderful to have such a fantastic team behind me!

    • Rafica Nisha
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to use this opportunity to say Thanks to my Resource manager Rachel Dube and the Offshore Mentors Vicki Phares and Sandy Keisam.You are all wonderful people to work with.The effort you put in training us while building the offshore team is really commendable.
    I am really happy to be associated with such a great team.

    • Stephanie McKay
    • October 4th, 2011

    Smart, tenacious, and ready to take on what’s asked of her, Sue Voisine shines as bright as a star on the projects she works on. I sincerely appreciate her assistance on the past few projects where the two of us had an opportunity to work together.

    • Deb Bucklitch
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to Say Thanks to A Really great Solutions Loan Team. We are small but have lots of terrific resources that Team up with us to deliver quality projects to the client.

    • Rachel
    • October 4th, 2011

    My GN team (Vicki, Paul, Michael, Don, Andrew) is SPECTACULAR and I applaud how well they work together on projects and in the heat of issues.

    My Offshore team is TREMENDOUS (Balaji, Chitra, Rafica, Annamalai, Vinay, Prasad, Naveen, Prasanna) and works remarkably well as a TEAM.

    I have an AMAZING Admin team (Jen, Linda, Ruby, Jess) that does a great job coordinating everything that comes their way.

    I work with REMARKABLE and resourceful Resource Managers (Deb, Kimberly, Debi, Sandi).

    • Kimberly Jalbert
    • October 4th, 2011

    A little over a year ago, I was faced with a decision to take a risk and make a substantial change in employment, a complete change in the field that I knew like the back of my hand to one that I had no experience with (banking and technology).

    As I sit here today, I am very happy to have taken the risk. I am very lucky to work with an amazing team of professionals each and every day. I think highly of all of you that work so hard to make FIS a successful team.

    Thank you to Michelle for being a great support, advocate, leader and coach; it is a pleasure to work on your team. Thank you to my team of Resource Managers, you are amazing to work with, your ideas, collaboration and sense of humors make it so worth coming to work every day. Thank you to my OA team – you guys ROCK!!!! – your determination, insight, honesty, creativity, leadership, commitment, and teamwork are VERY much appreciated. Thank you to my Solution Managers counterparts for your collaboration and understanding as we work together to support your project teams.

    I am thankful each and every day to be a part of the FIS team!

    • Jackie Labrecque
    • October 4th, 2011

    TO ALL:

    Spectacular
    Teamwork
    Amazing
    Results

    • Andy Hauman
    • October 4th, 2011

    Several Talented Appreciated Resources – Brian Fox, Michael McNeal, Patty Morris and John Seeger. Thank you all for your help throughout the year.

    • Vicki Phares
    • October 4th, 2011

    I have yet to work with anyone at this data center who is NOT superb. I totally rely on the OAs – many nights I’ve spent with them trying to run various versions of memo post. You really get to know people at 3 AM. The OAs always are the ‘go to’ people as far as I can see. My programming team is awesome. Michael E and Paul M cannot be surpassed. I can’t begin to name everyone I’ve had the opportunity to work with. I’ve gotten to work with the off-shore team and they bring a new perspective to everything, I will never be as thorough as they are. Everyone can be depended upon to answer questions and provide guidance. I do not know how one data center can have so many remarkable people. The managers are in-touch with all of us, the admin team seems to work quietly behind the scenes and keeps us all going, and the BAs have a great handle on application interactions. Change control does a great job–they have to handle an area no technician appreciates–and they make the process as smooth as possible. Every project is a pleasure because of this dedication. To all of you I’ve worked with – thank you for everything. STAR doesn’t even being to describe you.

    • Ruby Guimond
    • October 4th, 2011

    Some Talented Admin Resources (Jen, Linda & Jess). It’s a pleasure to work with you all!

    • Laura Bradman
    • October 4th, 2011

    Strive To Achieve Perfection

    • Diane Austin
    • October 4th, 2011

    Scary Smart and Talented!
    Adaptable but still Resourceful!
    Those are the words I would use to describe Chuck Howat’s team. These are amazing people and I am the lucky one who gets to work with them every day.

      • Lisa Cesare
      • October 4th, 2011

      agreed, especially the scary part.

    • Vicki Phares
    • October 4th, 2011

    SMART
    TALENTED
    AND
    RELIABLE

    • Tammy Stallworth-Arnau
    • October 4th, 2011

    Super Talented And Resourceful describes the Deposits Team led by Doris Langlais. Our team includes, Karla Rutherford, Kathy Taylor and Paul Lewis…..all these folks are the best of the best! Great to work with and always willing to help in any way! Plus….knowledgable in so many areas!!!

    • Sue Voisine
    • October 4th, 2011

    So the Team that Arranged these daily events should be Recognized for their efforts. Thanks for putthing this together and making it fun. I know that its hard to please everyone with these types of things so
    know that you have pleased at least one of your people… me 🙂

      • Kimberly Jalbert
      • October 4th, 2011

      Thank you very much Sue – we are glad that you are enjoying the week thus far 🙂

    • Eric J. Brown
    • October 4th, 2011

    Spectacular

    Teams

    Attain

    Results

    I am talking about our QA Team. I am so glad to be apart of such a great team. 🙂

      • Beth M Robertson
      • October 4th, 2011

      Thanks Eric!! We are glad you are part of our team too!! 🙂

      • Kerry Lutz
      • October 7th, 2011

      Spectacular

      Teams

      Attain

      Results

      I would like to give a shout out to Tina and her Testing team for all their extra efforts in testing with us for the Vector Returns Upgrade Project. The V5R Run book had tasks for almost everyday (daylight & twilight shifts) while we were testing / turning cycles in UAT8 / PAT regions. Several changes were thrown their way, even starting cycles late they were still able to met our SLA’s. If it wasn’t for them we wouldn’t of completed our cycles within 24 hours. Thanks for all your help!! Take Care, Kerry

    • Deb Stang
    • October 4th, 2011

    Thank you to my SAVVY fellow resource managers, Michelle, Rachel, Kimberly, Sandi and Debi. You are a pleasure to work with and have confidence in what you are doing.
    TEAMWORK AND RESPONSIBILITY-I have the best team in the data center: Joyce, Deb, Tara, Sandi, Stephanie, Mindy, Ellen, Patti, Margaret and Susan. You are always ready to lend a hand and take on whatever is required.

    • Laura Bradman
    • October 4th, 2011

    Skillful Talanted and Reliable,
    I would like to say how much I appreciate my OA counterparts. I have learned alot of each and everyone you. You are all Awesome!!

      • Kimberly Jalbert
      • October 4th, 2011

      Dido!!! The OA team is always teaching me something new too – you guys ROCK!!!

    • Deb Fick
    • October 4th, 2011

    To Rich Thibault, Lisa Cesare, Michael McNeal, Don Frost, Mike Crossley and Tom Hellmund; You’re Simply The best At what you do and no Recognition could be enough! Without you, work wouldn’t be near as much fun either. Please don’t ever retire before me.

      • Lisa Cesare
      • October 4th, 2011

      This has been a great team, on the never ending project..

    • Karen Haskell
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to take the time thank all of the Prod management team for all their hard work that they do. To me you are all stars. You all STRIVE TO ACHIEVE REGULARLY. I am glad to be part of the Prod Management team. Keep up the great work.

      • Donna Harry
      • October 5th, 2011

      Thank you Karen – you help make us a sucessful team!!

    • Paul Lewis
    • October 4th, 2011

    STRONG
    TALENTED
    AND
    RESOURCEFUL

    • Beth M Robertson
    • October 4th, 2011

    Shelby
    Tops
    All
    Resources

    I just want to say a special THANK YOU to Shelby McGalliard from the QA team. In my 7 weeks here, she has been so helpful in getting me on my feet and up and running. Thanks Shelby!! You’re the BEST

    • Beth M Robertson
    • October 4th, 2011

    I want to say THANK YOU to Leslie Chavers for getting me trained and helping me with all my many questions!!!

    Thanks Leslie!! You’re AWESOME!!

    • Blate Minkler
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to express appreciation to Cecilia Mason for being such a wonderful member of my team (she is my team). Cecilia consistently performs with excellence and always delights her clients. It is a joy to work with her.

      • Cecilia
      • October 4th, 2011

      Thanks to your leadership Blate – we are a SMALL TEAM producing AWESOME RESULTS!

    • Blate Minkler
    • October 4th, 2011

    So To All Respected colleagues at FIS – TD Bank:

    Thanks for all you do!

    • Shelby McGalliard
    • October 4th, 2011

    I just want to say a special thank you to LESLIE CHAVERS and MONA HUGHES on the QA Team. I have been a member of the QA team since June 1st and they have both been such a big help to me as I learn all of the ins and outs of the team. Thanks Leslie & Mona!!

      • Mona Hughes
      • October 5th, 2011

      Shelby,

      Thank you so much! You are a joy to work with!

    • Beth M Robertson
    • October 4th, 2011

    Shelby
    Tops
    All
    Resources

    I just want to say a special THANK YOU to Shelby McGalliard from the QA team. In my 7 weeks here, she has been so helpful in getting me on my feet and up and running. Thanks Shelby!! You’re the BEST

    • Scott Cloutier
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like everyone to know that Karen Haskell deserves a big THANK YOU for all that she does. She takes her role as Change Coordinator very seriously and stays extremely focused on the ever-changing Change Control environment. She pays attention to details and is always willing to help others without looking for anything in return. I am very happy to have her as a teammate. Thank you Karen.

    • Scott Cloutier
    • October 4th, 2011

    Still Ticking After Receiving a licking. This Data Center has had it’s ups and downs but we’re still here fighting the good fight. Thank you to all my FIS colleagues for being a great team.

    • Michael Straughan
    • October 4th, 2011

    Stratigically
    & Totally
    Awsome
    Resouces

    TD in general but working on the Howat Team makes it even sweeter. I have the best co-workers in the company. Thanks Chuck, Janet, Diane, Mindy, Rick, and Val making every day special.

    • Karen Garcia
    • October 4th, 2011

    S Sharp
    T Teams
    A Affect
    R Resolutions

    I have been with FIS for 8+ years but only on TD Bank team for a few months. What a great team of people to work with.

    • Kathryn Taylor
    • October 4th, 2011

    Smart
    Trustworthy
    Appreciated
    Reliable

    That’s what I see in my Test Team co-workers. We’re the ones behind the scenes testing all the projects, over and over again, until they’re ready to go to production. We love what we do, and it shows in our quality of work. We’re all STARs.

      • Kerry Lutz
      • October 7th, 2011

      Yes… I have to agree to with you. Thank You for all you do!!

    • Karla Rutherford
    • October 4th, 2011

    Stupendous
    Talented
    Achieving
    Resources…..
    I’m proud to be part of a this stellar group!

    • Cam Taylor
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to express appreciation for Patty, Tina and Tracy for working together to make our team(s) run smoothly and seamlessly. I would also like to express appreciation for the individual members of their teams that put in the effort around the clock from around the world to deliver our cycles every day. Our team has come such a long way in two short years.

    • Dawn Hilliard
    • October 4th, 2011

    I appreciate my entire team in Prod Management. Your

    Service,
    Talent,
    Abilities, and
    Response

    to our client is outstanding and you make me proud!!!!

    • Dawn Hilliard
    • October 4th, 2011

    Also want to send thanks to our Solutions support through those day to day activities and of course those critical midnight calls. You assist in making FIS shine as a whiole.

    • Dawn Hilliard
    • October 4th, 2011

    And we can’t forget our change and incident teams. Change and incident teams requires staff to be very adaptable to the policy and procedural changes which happen fequently.

    You guys totally ROCK

    • Dawn Hilliard
    • October 4th, 2011

    Last but not least, to the Resource Managers, your assistance providing resources during the slow down in projects has been so helpful to the Production team. These resources have gotten the Production Management team in a better poistion on the amount of incident tickets that were backlogged for quite some time.

    Your efforts are appreciated.

    • Leslie Chavers
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to say Thank you to Mona Hughes and Heather Ouellette on the QA Team. You both played major roles in training me and continue to help me to grow as a resource. You both are always willing to assist. I thank you for your training, guidance and patience over the past year.

    Superb
    Training
    And
    Response

      • Heather Ouellette
      • October 5th, 2011

      Thank you so very much Leslie. You Rock and are a joy to work with.

      • Mona Hughes
      • October 5th, 2011

      Thank you so much, Leslie! You know you make our job easy! 🙂

    • Leslie Chavers
    • October 4th, 2011

    I would like to say THANK YOU to my teammates on the QA Team. Without your willingness, cooperation, dedication, and determination to get things done we would not be a successful team. Thank you for all that you do!
    It also helps to have a team that you work hard with, but can also laugh with.

    Superb
    Teammates
    And
    Role models

  1. As the end of my workday draws near,
    I want to give a Shout out to my RM team so dear.
    There is so much to appreciate about this Terrific team,
    Most days are so Amazing it seems like a dream.
    They are so business savvy and so wicked funny,
    They are always Responsive, each running like a bunny.
    And don’t forget our inspirational leader & business guru ,
    Guiding our way, there’s no situation we cannot get through.
    THANK YOU Michelle, Kimberly, Rachel, Sandi and Deb,
    Gotta run get this appreciation posted on the web !!

    • Pat Simpson
    • October 4th, 2011

    Sincere Team Actions Result in success

    To my Solutions Team: I want to share my sincere appreciation for the excellence and outstanding contributions you provide to our center and our client. Many thanks to:
    Cathy, Doris, Jose, Lisa, Teri and Rich,
    Mike, Michelle, Mark and Glen
    Kathy, Karla, Tammy, Paul and Susan
    Rhonda and Dan
    Andrew and Don

    To my complimenting Solutions Team: I also share sincere appreciation for your excellence and outstanding contributions, support and comradeship. Many thanks to:
    Bill, Scott, Chuck and Karen
    Deb and Vickie
    Michael, Janet, Mindy and Diane
    Pam and Bret

    And to our entire account team, you all are equally appreciated for the excellence you provide to our teams and the client. We couldn’t do it without each of you!!

    We are all one great team!!

    • Rich Thibault
    • October 5th, 2011

    I would like to send my thanks to Deb Fick for the great job she does. She has been covering for me for nearly two months while I’ve been on vacation and traveling. Deb always does an excellent job. Thank you.

    • Lisa Dumont
    • October 5th, 2011

    I appreciate my wicked good cubicle neighbors that keep things a little more lively. Some of us Mainahs don’t like the piece and quiet so much.

      • Heather Ouellette
      • October 5th, 2011

      Lisa, we enjoy having you as a neighbor as well

    • Jackie Labrecque
    • October 5th, 2011

    “”Man I tell yah, he was bookin’ it tryin’ ta make tha last boat out to the island!”

    • Peggy
    • October 5th, 2011

    I don’t really have the Mainah down yet. I’m still working on the Southern accent. I live ‘down the road a piece’. I’m a Jersey Girl (south Jersey), living in the south and working in Maine, a ‘Man Without a Country’ so to speak. But I have to say, this group is very diversified and no matter where anyone is located, this is the best group of people. Everyone is nice, friendly and helpful. Y’all keep on bein’, ya hear.

    • Mike Swart
    • October 5th, 2011

    To all of us here.. a day doesn’t go by that something comes up… and there is always someone to do something about it….

    Makes us great

    • Rachel
    • October 5th, 2011

    “Yesha! Dat dehr a goohd tractah”

    • Mindy Peach
    • October 5th, 2011

    I’m a southern girl, so cain’t quite get what ya’ll Mainah’s are sayin, but I think I’m fixin to figure it out. I do know that ya’ll are hard workin peeps, and bunches of fun ta’boot — “bless your hearts”!! 🙂

    • Sue
    • October 5th, 2011

    Well I have a wicked good story about the day I took my cah and went up ta camp in Bah Habah(Bar Harbor) and fell down cella but I dont have time right now cause I gotta go get me some lobstahs.

    • Laura Bradman
    • October 5th, 2011

    ‘I need to go to the stoah and by a cahtin o’ mik.’

    • Dawn Hilliard
    • October 5th, 2011

    Must share a couple of thoughts about us Mainahs from the well known Mainah comedian – Bob Marley

    1. We don’t throw things – we chuck it, wing it, or heave it.
    2. Mainahs don’t pass people in their cars- we whiz by them.

      • Laura Bradman
      • October 5th, 2011

      And we can’t forget.
      Gimme that thingamajig from whats-her-face

    • Scott Cloutier
    • October 5th, 2011

    I’m not a Mainah but a Bostonian so here’s my Bawstin story:

    A normal day in Bawstin – I wake up in Beantown on St. Paddy’s day and head to DD to git my cahfee (xtra, xtra) and then wahk to the half-shell to watch da Charles tuhn green. Then I hopped the T to Slumaville to git mah cah cause I pahked mah cah in Hahvid Yahd last night and it got towed. Then I headed to Southie and hit the packie and got a grindah. It was a wicked pissah. Then I went to O’Malley’s forah pint of green beeah. Aftah that, I hopped the T to Mass Ave and then to Yahkee Way to see the Sawx play a day game at the Pahk. I ate some Fenway Franks and drank moah beeah. Aftah da game, I had to drive to Wuhsta to git mah concit tickets. Got back to da North End on Causeway to catch the B’s at the Gahden. Aftah da game, da Causeway was jacked with croozas because the Habs fans were unruly. Good night Bawhstin.

    TRANSLATION:

    A normal day in Boston – I wake up in Boston on St. Patrick’s day and head to Dunkin Donuts to get my coffee (extra cream, extra sugar) and then walk to the Boston Esplanade to watch the Charles River turn green. Then I took the subway to Somerville to get my car because I parked my car in Harvard Yard last night and it got towed. Then I headed to South Boston (or the South End) and went to the convenience store and got a sub (or an italian sandwich for you Maine folks). It was very good. Then I went to O’Malley’s for a green beer on tap. After that, I took the subway to Massachusetts Ave and then to Yawkee Way to see the Red Sox play a day game at Fenway Park. I ate some hot dogs and drank more beer. After the game, I had to drive to Worcester to get my concert tickets. Got back to the North End (North Boston) on Causeway St. to catch the Bruins game at the TD Garden. After the game, Causeway St. was full of police cars because the Montreal Canadiens fans were unruly. Good night Boston.

    • Patty Morris
    • October 5th, 2011

    nice Scott, i understoof every word, coming from a former Bawstoian

    • Heather Ouellette
    • October 5th, 2011

    George and his wife Martha were from Northern Maine. Every year they went to the Bangah State Fair.

    George said ” Ya know Mahtha, I’d like ta get a ride in that theah aihplane.”

    and every year Martha would say “George, but that ihplane ride costs ten dollahs…. and ten dollahs is ten dollahs.”

    So George says ” By Jeebers Mahtha, I’m 71 yeahs old, if I don’t go this time I may nevah go.”

    Martha replies ” George, that there aihplane ride is ten dollahs…and ten dollahs is ten dollahs.”

    So the pilot overhears them and says ” Folks, I’ll make you a deal, I’ll take you both up for a ride, if you can stay quiet for the entire ride and not say ONE word, I won’t charge you, but just one word and it’s ten dollars.”

    They agree and up they go…. the pilot does all kinds of twists and turns, rolls and dives, but not a word is heard, he does it one more time, still nothing… so he lands.

    He turns to George as they come to a stop and says ” By golly, I did everything I could think of to get you to holler out, but you didn’t.”

    And George replies ” Well, I was gonna say something when Mahtha fell out…but ten dollahs is ten dollahs!

    • Heather Ouellette
    • October 5th, 2011

    Lisa, we enjoy haveing a new fun neighbor as well.

    • Heather Ouellette
    • October 5th, 2011

    Blinker fluid
    n., Somethin’ tourists forget to put in their car before visitin’

    Dubba
    adj., Someone who doesn’t know much, ie: doesn’t know their head from their (other end). Can be shortened to Dub: “Hey, why did you throw my beer away, you dub?”

    From Away
    adj., People who are not native Mainah’s.

    • Karen Haskell
    • October 5th, 2011

    If you live(d) in Maine, then these will make sense…
    1. Traffic Jam is ten cars waiting to pass a tractor on the highway.
    2. “Vacation” means going to Bangor for the weekend.
    3. You measure distance in hours.
    4. You know several people who have hit deer more than once.
    5. You often switch from “heat” to “A/C” in the same day.
    6. You use a down comforter in the summer.
    7. Your grandparents drive at 65 mph through 13 feet of snow during a raging blizzard, without flinching.
    8. You see people wearing hunting clothes at social events.
    9. You install security lights on your house and garage and leave them both unlocked.
    10. You think of the major food groups as deer meat, beer, fish and berries.
    11. You carry jumper cables in your car and your girlfriend knows how to use them.
    12. There are four empty cars running in the parking lot at the convenience store at any given time.
    13. You design your kid’s Halloween costume to fit over a snowsuit.
    14. Driving is better in the winter because the potholes are filled with snow.
    15. You think sexy lingerie is tube socks and flannel pajamas.
    16. You know all four seasons: almost wintah, wintah, still wintah and construction.

      • Laura Bradman
      • October 5th, 2011

      We have 5 seasons not 4.. You forgot ‘Mud Season’

    • Kimberly Jalbert
    • October 5th, 2011

    You know you are a Mainah when….
    – You call 4 inches of snow a dusting.
    – You have hung out at a gravel pit.
    – You’ve almost fallen asleep driving between Houlton and Presque Isle.
    – You know how to find the rope swing at the quarry.
    – There’s too much “stuff” in your 2 “cah” garage to get either of your cars into it.
    – It’s not a storm – it’s a Nor’eastah.
    – You eat potato chips with flavors such as “clam dip”, “ketchup” and “dill pickle”.
    – You call the basement “downcellah.”
    – You use “wicked” as a multipurpose part of speech.

    • Chuck Howat
    • October 5th, 2011

    Diane, Janet, and I had a wicked good time last week in Maine. I want to thank those who went to dinner with us and shared their time and some stories. Honorable mention needs to go to Sandi for sharing!!

    • Vicki Phares
    • October 5th, 2011

    Having grown up in the grammatically correct Mid-west and having been an Ar-Kansan for almost 20 years, I’m fixin’ to tell y’all my Mainah item…I was in Main last yeah; my pal Deb B. shar’d her home w/me and I loved this refrigerator magnet……“In Maine we started with nothing and thank goodness we still have most of it left”….
    Thank you for lettin’ me use this Deb.

    • Deb Fick
    • October 5th, 2011

    I was watching the History Channel and they had a segment on how Maine wanted to split into North and South Maine. They also said lots of people from Massachusetts spend time in Southern Maine and that Mainahs have a special name for people from Massachusetts…but on the show they bleeped out the name. I had to get a Mainah to tell me what was bleeped. They also stated how people who are NOT from Maine are called ‘From Aways’. That cracks me up. In most states people would say you’re ‘from out of state’, but in Maine you’re ‘from away’. LOL

      • Laura Bradman
      • October 6th, 2011

      Ok and how many people actually know what us Mainahs call people from Massachusetts??

      • Scott Cloutier
      • October 7th, 2011

      I’m one of those Mass people they’re referring to.

    • Kathryn Taylor
    • October 6th, 2011

    Here’s a dictionary of uniquely Maine words for those who are from away.

    Apiece: An undetermined distance: “He lives down the road apiece.”

    Ayuh: Yup. Sure. Okay. That’s right. You Bet.

    Bug: Lobster

    Cah: A four wheel vehicle, not a truck.

    Chowdah: Chowder (Lobstah Chowdah is by fah the best)

    Crittah: Any furry animal

    Cunnin’: Cute

    Finest Kind: The very best

    From Away: Not from Maine

    Gawmy: Awkward or clumsy

    Gawd Awful: Not pleasing.

    Numb: Dumb. Stupid.

    Pot: Lobster Trap

    Prayah Handle: Knee

    Quahog: Thick-shelled clam (pronounced co-hog)

    Scrid: A tiny piece

    Steamahs: Clams

    Wicked: Very. To a high degree, such as wicked good, wicked bad, wicked exciting, etc.

    And a favorite reply to a request for directions? “You can’t get theyah from heah”

    • Vickie Boyles
    • October 7th, 2011

    I would like to express my sincere appreciation for the warm welcome extended to me by Scott Gagne, Deb Bucklitch, Debi McDaniel,Sandy Shorey and many others here in my first week. Everyone has been very helpful and I look forward to working with you all.

      • Scott Gagne
      • October 7th, 2011

      We’re really happy to have you as part of the team. Look forward to meeting you the week of 10/17.

    • Thanks Vickie! We are so glad you are here!

    • Scott Gagne
    • October 7th, 2011

    I would like to thank Deb Bucklitch for all her support in the Commercial Loans Team. Deb has been the key to our success in both client relations as well as project delivery. She has a great attitude about what we need to do and comes to work every day to make a difference. She does! Thank you Deb!

    • Scott Gagne
    • October 7th, 2011

    As the week is winding down and FIS Employee Appreciation Week is coming to an end, I would like to thank the Resource Management Team for putting together such a fun packed week. I can only imagine how challenging it must be to try to coordinate things that everyone, including those “from away”, will be able to actively participate in and enjoy. It was a great week with all the fun and games.

    I hope everyone will join me in thanking the team not only for the great job they did with the activites this week, but all the support they provide us every week.

    Thank you!!!

      • Kimberly Jalbert
      • October 7th, 2011

      Thank you very much Scott!

      It has been a fun week for us, even though it was very busy. It feels like everyone has enjoyed the gifts and games and I have learned about the humourours as well as competitive side that many of my fellow peers have.

      It has been a great week and well worth all the time and effort 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

